the old duke 

Carrying the legacy of William Sutton (also known as The Old Duke), this Duke Street hotel stands as perhaps the most prevalent memorial to Southport’s fascinating founder.
Erected a mere stone’s throw from the site of the Old Duke’s Original Hotel, the Dukes Folly’s earliest records date back to 1861 - just 7 years after the Original Hotel was demolished in 1854.
To this day we continue to pay homage to the forward thinking founder of our town with our building alone holding a wealth of history and importance to the local community of Southport.